Archive for March 7, 2010

Music meets nature

Posted in Uncategorized on March 7, 2010 by Cristina


Last night, I went to my FIFTH performance outing for the week. You’d think I was making a living off these jolly-good-times but it’s been just a series of coincidences that have added up to a week-long entertainment orgy. The Mimicking Birds were a band I’d planned to see during MusicFest NW last year but just didn’t have the energy to go to a fifth night of musicĀ that week… it seems I’ve built up a bit of a tolerance over the last six months. Luckily, friends and I got to sit comfortably in velvet seats; unluckily, it was directly in front of obnoxious striped shirt guys who were too busy macking to quietly enjoy the show. The residual New Yorker inside caused me to turn around and give them the evil eye which they may or may not have misunderstood as flirting, ugh. Silence was extra important because our minds were being blown by the juxtaposition of sweet music and videos of Planet Earth. That’s right, none other than the coolest Discovery Channel series ever. The full splendor of the nature show was being projected the entire time behind the band. Imagine their beautiful music meshed with this mushroom time lapse action, just imagine:

It was sublime! The band either didn’t know these images were distracting or they just didn’t care since it obviously enhanced our experience (their music is more than solid enough to stand alone, so not really an issue). Since it was an album release party, I got one and have been thoroughly enjoying it all day as I try to keep thoughts of shrooms and trees from distracting me from the work I need to do.